NTSE 2021 Eligibility Criteria – Check Age Limit, Rating Marks Here

NTSE 2021 Eligibility Criteria – NCERT has prescribed the NTSE 2021 exam eligibility criteria for Indian and foreign students. The NTSE 2021 eligibility criteria contain the age limit, the minimum qualifications required to apply for the NTSE exam, etc. Students must meet the full NTSE 2021 eligibility criteria before completing the forms. The National Council for Educational Research and Training (NCERT) conducts the NTSE 2021 exam in 2 stages. Stage 1 of the NTSE will take place at the state level, while Stage 2 will take place at the national level.

Stay up-to-date with NTSE news

NTSE 2021 Eligibility Criteria - Check Age Limit, Rating Marks Here

Students studying in class 10 are eligible to sit for the NTSE 2021 exam. Those students who qualify for the stage 1 exam will be eligible for the stage 2 exam. It should be noted that Indian students studying abroad They can take the Stage 2 exam directly. Students taking the exam must carefully check the NTSE 2021 eligibility criteria.

NTSE 2021 Exam Eligibility Criteria – Age Limit

NCERT has prescribed the age limit for open school students to appear in NTSE stage 1. Open students must be under 18 years old (as of July 1, 2020). This age limit applies to both Indian students and students of Indian origin studying abroad.

NTSE 2021 Eligibility Criteria for Stage I

Only Indian students studying in Indian schools are eligible to complete the NTSE 2021 form. The full eligibility criteria for the NTSE 2021 exam are listed below.

  • Students studying in the 10th class of recognized schools are eligible to appear in NTSE stage 1.

  • Kendriya Vidyalaya, Navodaya Vidyalaya, and Sainik School students can apply for NTSE from the state where their school is located. There will be no residency restrictions for them.

  • Open and Distance Learning (ODL) students are also eligible to appear in NTSE Stage 1. They must not be employed anywhere. They must appear on the 10th exam for the first time.

NTSE 2021 Eligibility Criteria – Required Minimum Grades in Class 9

Some states have a set grade point percentage of grades on the Class 9 exam as a condition of eligibility to appear on the NTSE Stage 1 exam. Please refer to the table below to verify the minimum qualifications required to obtain in Class 9 before applying for NTSE 2021.

Minimum grade marks required in class 9

Express Minimum qualification marks (for the general category) Minimum rating marks (for reserved category)
Maharashtra 60% brands 55%
Rajasthan 55% fifty%
Delhi 60% 55%
Uttar pradesh 55% 44%
Punjab 70% 55%
Bihar 60%
west bengal fifty% 40%
Madhya pradesh 40% 32%
Tamil nadu 60%
Assam 40% 32%
Jammu and Kashmir 60% 55%
Jharkhand 55% 40%
Go to 70% 55%
Uttarakhand 60% 55%
Gujarat 55%
Manipur 60% 55%
Himachal Pradesh 60% 55%
Kerala 55%
Haryana 55%
Puducherry 60%
Chandigarh 61% 56%
Odisha 60% 55%

NTSE 2021 Eligibility Criteria (Stage 2) for Indian Students

Students who successfully qualify at stage 1 will be eligible to sit for the stage 2 exam.

  • First, students must achieve minimum scores on the stage 1 exam to qualify for stage 2.
  • All states will post the NTSE cap for their respective states along with the NTSE 2021 result.
  • Students must be capped per section and per category to be selected for the Stage 2 exam.
  • This should be noted that if a student achieves cut-off marks but does not qualify in any of the sections, they will not be selected for the NTSE Stage 2 exam.

NTSE 2021 Eligibility Criteria for Stage 2 (Students Studying Abroad)

NTSE Stage 2 is a nationwide exam conducted by NCERT. Indian students studying abroad in class 10 can appear directly in NTSE stage 2. However, they must meet certain criteria listed below.

  • A student’s age must be under 18 years old.

  • Has obtained at least 60% of marks in the class 9th annual exam.

  • Students must take the exam at a center in India at their own cost.

  • They should send the certified copy of the class 9 grade sheet to the Head of the Division of Educational Surveys of the Department of Education, NCERT, New Delhi before December 31st.

If a student was selected, the scholarship will be paid only to those who will continue their studies in India.

NTSE 2021 rating marks

NCERT provides the qualifying scores for NTSE. These are the minimum grades that students must achieve to qualify for the next stage.

NTSE rating marks


Grade marks on the SAT

Qualification marks in MAT

Scheduled Breeds / Scheduled Tribes / Physically Handicapped.



General / economically weaker sections / OBC



NTSE 2021 Eligibility Criteria – Seat Reservation

Per NCERT layout, some seats are reserved for SC / ST and PWD students. This reservation is also applicable to Indian students studying abroad, only if they continue their further studies in India. See the table below for reservation criteria.

NTSE reservation criteria



Schedule cast


Programmed tribe


Person with Disability


Read more –


Leave a Comment